Ministry of Law and Human Rights signed an agreement with five national institutions in Indonesia for cooperation in monitoring of places of detention, in preparation for the future ratification of the Optional Protocol to the Convention against Torture. The Memorandum of Understanding was signed at a formal ceremony in connection to the 52nd anniversary of the Directorate General of Corrections, on Wednesday (27/4). The five institutions were the National Commission on Human Rights (Komnas HAM), the Indonesian Child Protection Commission (KPAI), National Commission on Violence Against Women (Komnas Perempuan), the Ombudsman and the Witness and Victim Protection Agency (LPSK). They agreed to cooperate with the Ministry as an independent oversight mechanism for places of detention in Indonesia.

Leave a Comment